Arthur A. Smith Memorial Scholarship Awards

The Dallas/Fort Worth Association for Business Economics gives the Arthur A. Smith Memorial Awards to outstanding economics, business, or finance students from one of the area universities undergraduate programs each spring. Student nominees are generally chosen based on academic achievement, extracurricular contributions, character, professional objectives, and the sponsoring university’s selection criteria. The field of economics touches virtually every aspect of human existence and interaction and employs a wide variety of tools and logic toward solving problems and issues. Past student applicants have written about a variety of subjects – examples include urban transportation, deregulation of electricity, U.S. budget surplus and trade deficits, birth control in third-world countries, the gold standard, renewable energy policy, and global trade protectionism.


Students are invited to submit a 1,500-word essay (please keep to the limit) on a current problem or issue in a local, regional, national, or global context that lends itself to economic analysis or application of economic theory. The essay should contain a concise statement of the problem, support a finding using economic principles, research and analysis, and offer original solutions or recommendations. Students are encouraged to submit essays based on prior class work or developed for the competition. Faculty sponsors assist the student in selecting an appropriate topic and submitting the essay. At the professor’s discretion, students may submit a second paper. Essays are submitted anonymously to an independent panel of economic professionals for judging. Plagiarism will not be tolerated.


Attending students and faculty sponsors will be recognized at DABE’s Award luncheon meeting (location and prize money TBA). The winners will be announced and receive their award at the luncheon. For the last several years, DABE was pleased to provide the following awards: First place: $1,000.00 Second place: $500.00 Third place: $300.00 Faculty sponsors, DABE members, members of the media, and invited guests will attend the luncheon. There will be time for networking opportunities with professionals; students are encouraged to bring their contact information.


Forecasting Competition


Monies for the Memorial Awards are raised from entry fees and donations to our annual Forecasting Competition held at the beginning of each year. Donations and entry fees are tax deductible if made to the NABE Foundation through DABE. You do not have to be a member of DABE or even an economist to enter. To request more information on the student paper competition or forecasting contest, use the form on our Contact page.


Click the link below for the 2019 Forecasting Competition entry form:

2019 Forecasting Competition online entry form


To donate via credit card, please fill out the following form on the NABE website.  After you submit the form, email Beverly Woodall (DABE Treasurer) at and let her know you’ve donated via NABE’s website.

Donate using a credit card via NABE's website


Mail the form with your donation to: 


*NOTE: All checks should be written to The NABE Foundation, NOT to DABE.


Treasurer, Dallas/Fort Worth Association for Business Economics


Beverly Woodall

Vice President, Finance

JLL Capital Markets

8343 Douglas Avenue, Suite 100, Dallas, TX 75225